Maritime Navigation Programme – UAE

July 15, 2022


Maritime Navigation Programme furnishes students with essential knowledge, skills and competency to safely and effectively perform the duties of an Officer in charge of a Navigational watch (OICNW), on board ships of unlimited voyage in accordance with the International Convention and STCW 1978, with the 2010 Manila Amendments.

Course Content:

The programme is comprised of three phases:

Phase 1

Diploma in Maritime Navigation Programme is offered to high school graduates, aiming to become a Ship Captain and sail ships on the national and international waters. This pre-sea qualification meets the requirements of Standards of Training, Certification and Watchkeeping (STCW) for seafarers that is prerequisite for obtaining a Certificate of Competency (CoC) issued by the Ministry of Energy and Infrastructure (MoEI) , UAE, the national governing authority..

This Diploma will also provide the skills and knowledge relevant to many shore-based careers in the operational aspects of shipping, including ship management, cargo handling, pilotage, towage, pollution control, surveying, port control and other marine related occupations

Phase 2

Students enroll as cadet in one of our partner companies to complete the required seagoing service as per the Ministry of Energy and Infrastructure guidelines.

Phase 3

After completion of the required seagoing service, a cadet joins Abu Dhabi Maritime Academy in order to complete the required Academic and STCW ancillary courses and quality for the CoC oral examination at the MoEI.

Course Details:


2.5 to 3 years subject to completion of the seagoing service.

Entry Requirements:

General Secondary Certificate / Secondary School Diploma Certificate (Grade 12) in Science/Math Streams – with overall grade of at least 60%.

Medically and physically fit with the required eye sight standards for both visual acuity and colour vision with test results as per the IMO, ILO, MLC 2006 and the UAE Federal Maritime Authority (FMA). The medical examinations shall be conducted by any of the FMA Approved Medical Practitioner.

A valid English language proficiency certificate with a minimum score of either 1100 EmSAT, 5 IELTS, 500 TOEFL (PBT), 61 TOEFL (IBT), or 173 TOEFL (CBT).


The Diploma is accredited by the Ministry of Education (MoE) while the overall OICNW programme is accredited by the Ministry of Energy and Infrastructure (MoEI).